Constructing IT Infrastructure — A Diary + Part II

Lets get started with building an image + Shopping list

Julian M. Kleber
3 min readJun 3, 2023
Created using NightCafe

Shopping List

  • 2 M2-SSD with USB-Adapter -> basically self-made external SSD they store the image backups
  • 5 times 64 GB USB-Stick -> File Backups, Bootables
  • Beelink Minicomputer -> has 16GB RAM and a solid processor, i took AMD for my server
  • Laptop for running dev task -> Chose ASUS with strong processor and 16GB RAM such that it is more or less the same as the Beelink computer (which is my server)
  • Laptop for running office (I choose Mac for intermediate as office has the lowest priority for me). Since my stock is gone I am not really invested in the company any longer so I dont really want to use their products forever. But it displays status looks nice and can do most tasks in office like image processing animation text editing blogging video calls etc
  • Graphic Tablet
  • Wired keyboards and mouse (had attacks on WiFi and Bluetooth last year for password spying)
  • Do seperate your guests completely out of any network that you are using. I suggest mobile router. It was advertised wrongly such that the encryption was not as advertised. Looking for a new one. At the moment I exclude guests as much as possible from the router. But every now and then they force their entry. Note FritzOS has a backdoor for the government.
  • A Router for internal networking not connected to the internet no wifi only cable. A FritzBox or something similar would do. Mine is broken after an attack. Will get a new one and update here.
  • A bunch of cables. A lot of cables were destroyed with either a knife a scissor or from my cat. These are really important.
  • A rig for storing router and servers — my room not really hosting ladies at the moment. Only computers. Have to clean up.
  • GPU machine -> not connected to another machine for ML, AI training (previously a gaming rig)
  • Printer -> Chose HP printer as it naturally integrates with the Mac standard driver without the need of accounts and networking. Aka the print is more or less anonymous apart from their WebApplication. But yeah it is as good as it is. I always turn it off when I do not print something.
  • Multiple displays (get what you can but I recommend not to overspend). It is more productive when the computers have their own display. It is why I use Laptops. When I am working on something important I can carry them around and they have their own screen already.

Selecting an image

Okay the street lore goes it is either BSD or Linux for servers but for Desktop it is for sure Linux. I was researching into OpenSUSE, Debian and Arch. There is the RedHat branch with Fedora and others but it does not seem such a good option after seeing CentOS being retired.

Arch is becoming less and less popular so I consider it a good option for the Dev Laptop. OpenSUSE does not meet my security standards. I do not really like Debian because it uses too much American security software like Apparmour which does not really work. At least the funding is at first glance European such that after a while one can assume Debian to become independent sooner or later.

The street lore suggests FreeBSD but I have never seen it in wildlife so it may be surprisingly good. Lets see.

Join our email list 9K+ and people to learn more about the good lifestyle, technology, and fashion.

Thank you for being here

⛵ Thank you for reading. We hope that we could provide you with something valuable and we would be glad to hear about your thoughts and ideas. Please drop a comment below or file an issue. Live long and prosper!🖖⛵

--

--